Mannequin

 Somewhere along the line I’ve developed a slight obsession with mannequins/dress forms. And have had several attempts at making one from scratch, none yet what I’d call successful. This is my first, which involved shaping a pillowcase using staples, stuffing it with newspaper, adding an old bra, and many layers of paper mache.

And ta da!

My new technique involves toilet rolls. This one turned out very boxy looking so I turfed it.

The next one I tried putting the rolls upright. But it finished up about the size of a child, with oversized hips.

 Believe you me this is a lot harder than it sounds! I did attempt to plaster bandage myself one day …which turned out like a lumpy misshapen t-shirt. Straight into the recycling. Wonder what the rubbish man thought…

While in Deloraine last year for the annual craft fair I was in a junk shop and found a plastic bust used for modelling clothes. While I was feeling conspicuous walking around carrying this plastic womanly mannequin, one of the artists at the fair goes, “What are you going to use *that* for!?”
None of your bleeding business woman!
Oh! The potential!
So far I have used it as a mould to create wall hangings.


 

Plus i happened upon some plaster so have a pristine white plaster mould sitting in the laundry ready to be painted when I get my arse around to designing something.

So I have given up making a form from scratch for a while. And am left with bags upon bags of toilet rolls! 

So I googled what uses there are for toilet rolls…

About cornstalk
Corn. Singer. Nurse. Lover of music. Pursuing God (trying...). Secluded. Pianist. Wannabe gypsy. Silly.

2 Responses to Mannequin

  1. Dee Alford says:

    What an amazing “other” life you have.

Leave a Reply

